Skip to main content

Technician's Guide & Workbook for the EPA Section 608 Test

As part of our Qtech HVAC training online course offerings, the ACCA EPA 608 Certification Test Prep Course is a self-paced program that will aid you in your efforts to become certified under the refrigerant recovery and recycling program of the United States Environmental Protection Agency (EPA).

To become certified, you must pass a written or oral test consisting of multiple-choice questions. There are four sections to the test. The first is the Core, which must be passed, along with at least one of the three other sections. For heating, air conditioning and refrigeration technicians, the EPA has three levels of certification:

  • Type I - Small Appliances
  • Type II - High Pressure Appliances
  • Type III - Low Pressure Appliances
Proof of certification is required to purchase refrigerants covered by Section 608 regulations.

Please Note:This is a prep course for the EPA 608 Exam. This is NOT THE EPA 608 EXAM. Click here for information on taking/purchasing the real exam.

This course is not designed to make you a qualified technician! Extensive on-the-job training coupled with related educational classroom sessions are a must for anyone who plans to be a competent technician. If it is your desire to learn about the trade through this document, you will be disappointed-there is no single book that can teach you everything you need to know about HVACR or any other industry.