Skip to main content

Overview of HL7 Standards for Interoperability 2022.02.02

This course provides a survey of the healthcare interoperability standards landscape, pointing out the main features of the terrain and how they link together to perform useful functions.

It consists of four main sections covering:

  1. Messaging standards such as HL7 Version 2 (V2) and Version 3 (V3)
  2. Clinical document standards such as Clinical Document Architecture (CDA®), Continuity of Care Document (CCD®), Continuity of Care Record (CCR) and IHE XDS
  3. Terminology standards such as SNOMED CT and LOINC
  4. HL7's interoperability standard Fast Healthcare Interoperability Resources (FHIR®)
The class will explain how and why these were developed, their complementary roles and each best suited to specific tasks. In the time available, the treatment of each standard is necessarily brief, but students will get an introduction for more advanced classes.
Learning Outcome
You will learn:
  • How the main healthcare interoperability standards relate to each other
  • How to choose which standard is most suited for specific roles

Virginia Lorenzi, Secretary: HL7 Board, Co-chair: Patient Empowerment Workgroup, Member: Education Advisory Council, & Policy Committee, HL7 Faculty