Skip to main content

Pain Research Forum Seminar – Quantitative Sensory Testing: Achievements, Limitations and Future Opportunities

Editor’s Note: This seminar is the latest event in a series of seminars launched in May 2020 to help keep the pain research community connected during the COVID-19 pandemic and to provide all members of that community with virtual educational opportunities. The seminar series is supported by the Center for Advanced Pain Studies at the University of Texas at Dallas, US.

The IASP Pain Research Forum hosted a seminar with Michele Curatolo, MD, PhD, University of Washington, Seattle, US, on Wednesday, February 10, 2021, from 12:00 PM – 1:00 PM Eastern Standard Time (US) / 5 - 6:00 PM GMT / 6 - 7:00 PM CET. A Q&A session moderated by Lars Arendt-Nielsen, Dr. Med., PhD, Aalborg University, Denmark, followed the presentation.

Here is an abstract from the presenter:

This seminar will highlight the role of quantitative sensory testing (QST) in pain research and clinical practice, with a focus on:

  • Assessment of somatosensory function relevant to pain
  • Potential to serve as prognostic biomarkers (predicting the course of pain and disability)
  • Potential to serve as predictive biomarkers (predicting the efficacy of interventions)
  • QST phenotypes linked to mechanisms of human pain

The seminar will highlight the status of current QST research, stressing:

  • What has been achieved
  • What cannot be achieved
  • Future opportunities offered by QST in mechanistic studies of human pain
  • Challenges and opportunities for use of QST in clinical practice.