Live Chat ×
Skip to main content

Introduction to IRI's TRACK program and Self-Directed Learning Engine Tool


A key element to the Organizational leg of IRI’s new Vision and Strategy is TRACK: Training Resources to Advance Competencies and Knowledge. TRACK is the way to take years of learning from IRI RoR research coupled with the research of subject matter experts and make it accessible to those who want to improve their Innovation Leadership skills. Come learn about TRACK and how our new tool, a Self-Directed Learning Engine (SDLE), can guide assessment of Innovation Leadership Skills for you and your team as well as point you toward specific learning resources to fill those skill gaps.


  • Sherri Bassner

    Formally the Vice President of Chemical Services at Intertek and former Board Director of Innovation Research Interchange. Sherri's now IRI's TRACK program director.

  • Gina O’Connor, PhD, Professor, Lally School of Management, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute

    Dr. Gina O'Connor is associate professor in the Lally School of Management & Technology at Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, where she has taught and conducted research for more than 15 years. She has served as the Director of the Lally School’s MBA/MS programs, Associate Director of the Severino Center for Technology Entrepreneurship, and is currently the Academic Director of the Executive MBA program. Doctor O’Connor is also the Director of the Radical Innovation Research Program, ongoing at the Lally School since 1995. In that role, she recently lead a team of ten researchers across three universities in the program’s second phase, a longitudinal research study designed to understand and improve large, established companies' implementation of radical innovation capabilities. She is responsible for recruiting twenty one Fortune 1000 companies to participate in this three-year effort, which is now complete and has culminated in the publication of abook, titled Grabbing Lightning: Building a Capability for Breakthrough Innovation. She has been recognized as one of the top 20 scholars in innovation management in studies in 2007 and 2012.