Live Chat ×
Skip to main content

Mediastinal Lesions

Evaluated by: 
David B. Kaminsky, MD, FIAC, October 24, 2018
Original release date: December 12, 2018
Access to this course expires on:  October 24, 2021

Part 1: Anja C. Roden, MD & Paul J. Kurtin, MD
Part 2: Anja C. Roden, MD

Learning Objectives:
  • Recognize classic Hodgkin lymphoma and primary mediastinal large B cell lymphoma using 2017 WHO lymphoma classification criteria and be able to distinguish them from diffuse large B-cell lymphoma, NOS, high grade B-cell lymphoma with MYC and BCL2 and/or BCL6 gene rearrangements, and B-cell lymphoma unclassified with features intermediate between diffuse large B-cell lymphoma and classic Hodgkin lymphoma (“grey-zone’ lymphoma).
  • Minimize the panel of immunostains used in the initial workup of a small biopsy of an anterior mediastinal mass.
  • Implement the 8th AJCC/UICC staging for all resected thymomas, thymic carcinomas, and thymic neuroendocrine tumors.
  • Apply the criteria of the 2015 WHO classification to thymic epithelial tumors
  • Recognize that cystic changes not only occur in mediastinal cysts but are relatively common in mediastinal neoplasms.