Live Chat ×
Skip to main content

Speed Management Noteworthy Practices

Thank you

This live event has ended.

PDH Credit
Registrants will need to complete a webinar evaluation in order to earn PDH credit and a certificate of completion.

Additional Attendees at one location interested in earning credit (no more that 6 months following an event), Click Here.

PDH credits are not provided for additional attendees at one location viewing an on-demand recording. They are only provided to the registrant.

Return to the Course Description for more information or to access the evaluation and certificate.


  • Neal Hawkins, Associate Director, Institute for Transportation, Iowa State University

    Mr. Hawkins has 30 years of experience in traffic engineering, operations, and safety and serves a number of research and leadership roles at the Institute for Transportation at Iowa State University (InTrans). He has served as the Director for two centers, CTRE (Center for Transportation Research and Education) and CWIMS (Center for the Weather Impacts on Mobility and Safety), and is an adjunct lecturer. In addition, Mr. Hawkins has a unique role in serving as the Iowa Department of Transportation’s Research Traffic Operations Engineer. He also serves as PI and/or Co-PI on a number of Safety, Operations, and Infrastructure related projects and recently developed the CTRE Real Time Analytics of Transportation Data (REACTOR) Laboratory which is a multi-disciplinary research endeavor. Neal continues to work at the national level managing an 18 agency pooled fund on Road Weather Information Systems. He is a fellow of ITE and past MOVITE president.

  • Shauna Hallmark, Senior Engineer/Planner | President, Streetwise Transportation Consultants

    Shauna Hallmark is the President of Streetwise Transportation Consultants. Additionally she is the director for the Institute for Transportation at Iowa State University. She has served as principal investigator for more than 58 research projects over 17 years for a wide range of sponsors including the Institute of Transportation Engineers, Strategic Highway Research Program, NCHRP, Iowa DOT, Minnesota Local Road Research Board, Iowa Highway Research Board (IHRB), and FHWA. Hallmark has conducted a number of research projects which have assessed the impact of speed management strategies at rural transition zones. Additionally she has developed a number of workbooks and tech briefs related to rural speed management including a toolbox to address speed management in rural communities; a synthesis of speed management techniques in work zones; and a speed management ePrimer for rural transition zones and town centers.

  • Daniel G. Sharp, Chief of Police, Town of Oro Valley, Arizona

    Daniel G. Sharp has served as Chief of Police for the Town of Oro Valley since January 2000. Prior to his appointment as Chief, Chief Sharp spent over 21 years with the Tucson Police Department. Chief Sharp is the Chairman for the IACP Highway Safety Committee and FHWA Executive Leadership Group (ELG) member for Traffic Incident Management. In 2014, he was awarded the J. Stannard Baker Award for ‘outstanding lifetime contributions to highway safety’, and was the 2013 Greater Oro Valley Chamber of Commerce Legacy Award recipient. Chief Sharp holds a Masters in Educational Leadership from Northern Arizona University and is a graduate of the 190th Session of the FBI National Academy.

  • Veronica Vanterpool, Deputy Director, National Vision Zero Network

    Veronica Vanterpool is the Deputy Director of the national Vision Zero Network. Prior to joining the Vision Zero Network, she served as executive director of the New York City based Tri-State Transportation Campaign, where she spent 10 years. She worked closely with community residents, civic partners, agency leaders and elected and appointed officials in the greater New York metro region on key issue campaigns including increased funding for transit, walking and biking infrastructure; congestion pricing; Complete Streets; and Vision Zero. Ms. Vanterpool also serves on the board of the New York Metropolitan Transportation Authority, the nation's largest transit system providing 2.6 billion transit trips per year.

June 13, 2019
Thu 3:00 PM EDT

Duration 2H 0M

This live web event has ended.

You can access this item by buying entire course

Buy entire course: